join donate discuss

Greens standing full slate in Manchester this May

Manchester Green Party will put forward a total of 33 candidates across all 32 of the city’s wards for the local elections on Thursday May 2nd, including two in Fallowfield.

This marks the first time that the Greens have stood a full slate of candidates in Manchester since 2015 when they got a record 11.5% of the vote citywide.

Adrian Brian Thompson, Co-Chair of Manchester Green Party, said: ‘I’m delighted that residents everywhere in Manchester will have the chance to vote Green on May 2nd.

‘Manchester Green Party’s 33 candidates are all passionate about their communities and will add much needed variety to Manchester City Council if elected.

‘We are committed to doing all we can for the people of Manchester and we hope that this election will mark the start of a cleaner, Greener and fairer city.’

Manchester Green Party’s candidates are standing on a bold, forward-thinking manifesto, based on policies decided democratically by party members at our AGM earlier this year.

Key pledges in the manifesto include taking on the issues underlying Brexit, pushing for more affordable housing and boosting Manchester’s walking and cycling network.

Rob Nunney, Green Party candidate for Woodhouse Park ward in Wythenshawe, said: ‘The people of Wythenshawe have told me they feel taken for granted by their current councillors – and that’s the case all across Manchester.

‘I’ve been campaigning all year to make sure that Wythenshawe won’t be forgotten about and I want to bring a fresh, different voice to the council chamber.’

Alongside our manifesto pledges, we will continue to push Manchester City Council to declare a climate emergency and make Manchester a zero-carbon city by 2030.

The Green Party currently has around 180 councillors on principal authorities across England and Wales and aims to make further gains this time.

Manchester could become the second borough in the Greater Manchester city region with Green representation after Altrincham elected two Green councillors to Trafford council last year.

The full list of Green Party candidates in Manchester in this year’s local elections is below:

Complete Candidate List

  • Ancoats and Beswick – Robyn Schreibke
  • Ardwick – Kara Ng
  • Baguley – Sarah Mander
  • Brooklands – Grazyna Buczkowska
  • Burnage – Ben Dundas
  • Charlestown – Astrid Johnson
  • Cheetham – Dave Taylor
  • Chorlton – Mary Crumpton
  • Chorlton Park – Mary Candeland
  • Clayton and Openshaw – Jake Welsh
  • Crumpsall – Adam King
  • Deansgate – Chris Ogden
  • Didsbury East – Wendy Lynas
  • Didsbury West – Arnold Spencer
  • Fallowfield – Lottie Donovan, Anne Power
  • Gorton and Abbey Hey – Paul Davies
  • Harpurhey – Vicky Matthews
  • Higher Blackley – Adrian Thompson
  • Hulme – Issy Patience
  • Levenshulme – Dick Venes
  • Longsight – Bernard Ekbery
  • Miles Platting and Newton Heath – Stephanie Wyatt
  • Moss Side – Kirstine Pearson
  • Moston – Eithne Quinn
  • Northenden – Simon Gray
  • Old Moat – Bonnie Mercer
  • Piccadilly – Brian Candeland
  • Rusholme – Kate Benson
  • Sharston – June Buchan
  • Whalley Range – Eliza Tyrrell
  • Withington – Nathan Rae
  • Woodhouse Park – Rob Nunney